Menu Close

Julian Assange Deserves A Nobel Peace Prize—The Courage Foundation Jan. 31, 2021

Julian Assange has been nominated for the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize. We think he deserves to win. There is an incredibly long list of actions that Julian has taken toward a more peaceful world. As Julian has said, “If wars can be started by lies, peace can be started by truth.”

More than one individual can nominate Assange; he’s already been nominated this year by people including former Peace Prize winner Mairead Maguire and French politician Jean-Luc Mélenchon. Maguire and four other Peace Prize winners wrote a letter to then-President Trump recounting Assange’s contributions toward peace:

“Assange has fought for truth and justice. His work with WikiLeaks has pioneered accountability in the media and exposed corruption, civil liberties violations in the United States and around the world, and the true cost of war.”

More nominations significantly help the cause: as Assange’s partner Stella Moris put it, “Nominations are themselves protective, but a win would be so politically protective it would very likely secure Julian’s freedom.”

You can make a difference by then encouraging someone who meets the Nobel Committee’s criteria to submit a formal nomination — and the deadline is just days away, on January 31. Nominations can be made online here.

Here’s who can nominate:

  • University Professors
  • Members of Parliament
  • Members of Government
  • Current Heads of State
  • Directors of Peace Institutes

See the full eligibility requirements here, and see an example of a previous nomination here.

Sign the petition, and then spread the word: Julian Assange Deserves a Nobel Peace Prize!